Music in The Church

For me using music is the best way to praise God. In Church I have always felt closest to God when I was lifting my voice to sing to Him. I looked in my Bible and found that many people used song to worship the Lord.

In Judges chapter 5 verses 1 and 2 when Deborah and Barak sang the song “‘When the princes in Israel take the lead, when the people willingly offer themselves- praise the Lord! Hear this, you kings! Listen, you rulers! I, even I, will sing to the Lord; I will praise the Lord, the God of Israel, in song.'” If so many people were praising Him through music and being blessed then obviously they were doing something right. I feel like I am following in their footsteps and attempting to become as enveloped in God’s love as they were and be able to share it.

One of my favorite passages is from Psalms 92, it reads “Shout joyfully to the Lord, all the earth; Break forth and sing for joy and sing praises. Sing praises to the Lord with the lyre, With the lyre and the sound of melody. With trumpets and the sound of the horn, Shout joyfully before the King, the Lord.” This verse is one that I think about a lot while I practice and perform music because I create music for His glory not for my own selfish desire for fame or glory.

Happy Sunday and may the Lord Bless you all the days of your life.

2 thoughts on “Music in The Church

  1. Julia, your post is lovely. I think it is amazing how hundreds of years ago people were worshipping God with music and to this day we still are using music for His glory.

    Like

  2. The last sentence of your third paragraph really intrigued me when you mentioned worshipping God for his glory, and not for your own selfish desire for fame, and glory. Do you think nowadays some people in church use the worship card to bring the spotlight on them, and not God. Thanks so much for sharing Julia!

    Like

Leave a comment